Daily Updates

  • Home
  • Daily Updates

‘Utama’ by Alejandro Loayza Grisi bags the Suvarna Chakoram at the 27th IFFK


A bold artistic statement about the climate crisis, ‘Utama’, from the director Alejandro Loayza Grisi, won Suvarna Chakoram at the 27th IFFK. Rajata Chakoram for Best Debut Director was won by Firaz Khoury for ‘Alam’ for the promising debut of a director who achieves to immerse us into a coming of age story of a middle class Palestine citizen of Israel and the Rajata Chakoram for Best Director went to Tayfun Pirselimoglu for ‘Kerr’, based on the life of a young man who witnesses a murder. 

Lijo Jose Pellissery's ‘Nanpakal Nerathu Mayakkam’ is the audience's poll winning film of the 27th IFFK. Mahesh Narayanan’s directorial ‘Ariyippu’ won the NETPAC Award for Best Malayalam Film.

Rajata Chakoram for Best Debut Director and the NETPAC Award for Best Asian Film were won by Firaz Khoury's ‘Alam’. The FIPRESCI Award for Best Film in International Competition was bagged by ‘Our Home’ by Romi Meitei Mayanglambam.

The Malayalam film ‘19 (1) (a)’ directed by Indu VS won the FIPRESCI Award for Best Malayalam Film of a Debut Director. FFSI KR Mohanan Endowment Award for Best Debut Director from India was presented to Siddharth Chauhan for ‘Amar Colony’. ‘A Place of Our Own’ (Ek Jagah Apni) by Ektara Collective is the best film in this category. Manisha Soni and Muskan, who starred in this film, were selected for a special mention for Best Performance in the category of International films.