Daily Updates

  • Home
  • Daily Updates

Closing Ceremony: Lifetime Achievement Award to Béla Tarr


The closing ceremony of IFFK, the eight-day long film festival was inaugurated by Minister VN Vasavan. He said that this year's festival was the most impressive in terms of audience participation and screening of value-based films. In coming years steps would be taken to avoid recurrence of seat reservation issues. In a ceremony presided over by Minister V Sivankutty, Hungarian director Béla Tarr was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award, which was presented by Minister V N Vasavan. Noted and celebrated writer M. Mukundan was the chief guest. Film festivals should be used as a means of building a wall of defense against those who obstruct the freedom of expression, Mukudan said.

Advocate VK Prasanth MLA presented the logo of the Happiness International Film Festival, organised by the KSCA at Taliparamba from December 19 to 21, to District Panchayat President Adv. D Suresh Kumar. Jury Chairman Veit Helmer, Spanish-Uruguayan director Alvaro Bruckner, Argentine actor Nahuel Pérez Biscayart, Indian Director Chaitanya Tamhane, FIPRESCI Jury Chairperson Katharina Dockhorn, NETPAC Jury Chairperson Indu Srikenth, FFSI KR Mohanan Endowment Award Chairman N. Manu Chakraborty, Principal Secretary of the Department of Culture Affairs Rani George IAS, Chairman of the KSCA Ranjith, Vice Chairman Premkumar, Secretary C Ajoy, Artistic Director Deepika Suseelan and others were present.