Daily Updates

  • Home
  • Daily Updates

Annual Aravindan Memorial Lecture at Nila TheatreĀ 



The 20th edition of the annual Aravindan Memorial Lecture at IFFK will be held on December 11, 2023, at Nila Theatre, starting at 3 pm. This year's Aravindan commemorative lecture will be delivered by the esteemed Hindi filmmaker and Chairman of the KR Narayanan National Institute of Visual Science and Arts, Saeed Akhtar Mirza. The Aravindan Memorial lecture series began in 2003, inaugurated with a talk by filmmaker Krzysztof Zanussi.

Aravindan was a prominent figure in Kerala's parallel cinema movement, excelling as a filmmaker and cartoonist. In recognition of his notable contributions to Indian Cinema, he was honored with the prestigious Padma Shri in 1990.

Saeed Mirza is the director of parallel movies such as Mohan Joshi Hazir Ho (1984), Albert Pinto Ko Gussa Kyoon Hai Aata Hai (1980), Salim Langde Pe Mat Ro (1989), and Naseem (1995). Naseem earned him the National Film Award for Best Direction.